Work in Progress

We are still in the process of writing the documentation for Scala 3. You can help us to improve the documentation.

Are you searching for the Scala 2 documentation?

 

New in Scala 3

Language

令人振奋的新版 Scala 3 带来了许多改进和新功能。在这里,我们为你提供最重要的变更的快速概述。如果你想深入挖掘,还有一些参考资料供你使用。

What’s new in Scala 3

Scala 3 是对 Scala 语言的一次彻底改造。在其核心部分,类型系统的许多方面都被改变了,变得更有原则性。虽然这也带来了令人兴奋的新功能(比如联合类型),但首先意味着类型系统变得(甚至)不那么碍事了,例如类型推断和 overload resolution 都得到了很大的改善。

新的和闪亮的:语法

除了许多(小的)清理工作,Scala 3 的语法还提供了以下改进:

Opinionated: Contextual Abstractions

Scala的一个基本核心概念是(在某种程度上仍然是)为用户提供一小部分强大的功能,这些功能可以被组合成巨大的(有时甚至是不可预见的)表达能力。例如,implicit 的特性被用来模拟上下文抽象、表达类型级计算、模拟类型类、执行隐式强制、编码扩展方法等等。从这些用例中学习,Scala 3 采取了一种略微不同的方法,专注于 意图 而非 机制。Scala 3 没有提供一个非常强大的功能,而是提供了多个定制的语言功能,让程序员直接表达他们的意图。

  • Abtracting over contextual information. Using clauses 允许程序员对调用上下文中的信息进行抽象,这些信息应该以隐式方式传递。作为对 Scala 2 implicits 的改进,可以按类型指定using子句,从而将函数签名从从未显式引用的术语变量名中解放出来。

  • Providing Type-class instances. Given instances 允许程序员定义某个类型的 规范值 。这使得使用类型类的编程更加简单,而不会泄露实现细节。

  • Retroactively extending classes. 在 Scala 2 中,扩展方法必须使用隐式转换或隐式类进行编码。相比之下,在 Scala 3 中,extension methods现在直接内置于语言中,从而产生更好的错误消息和改进的类型推断。

  • Viewing one type as another. 隐式转换已经被重新设计为类型类Conversion的实例。

  • Higher-order contextual abstractions. context functions全新 功能使上下文抽象成为第一等公民。它们是库开发人员的一个重要工具,允许表达简洁的特定领域语言。

  • Actionable feedback from the compiler. 如果一个隐式参数不能被编译器解决,它现在提供了可能解决这个问题的import suggestions

Say What You Mean: 类型系统改进

除了极大地改进了类型推断,Scala 3 类型系统还提供了许多新的功能,还为你提供了强大的工具来静态地表达类型中的不变量。

  • Enumerations. 枚举已经被重新设计,以便与样例类很好地融合,并形成表达代数数据类型的新标准。

  • Opaque Types. 将实现细节隐藏在opaque type aliases的别名后面,而不需要在性能上付出代价! Opaque types 取代了值类,并允许你建立一个抽象的屏障,而不会造成额外的装箱开销。

  • Intersection and union types. 将类型系统建立在新的基础上,引入了新的类型系统特性:intersection types的实例,如A & B,既是A的实例,也是B的实例;union types的实例,如A | B,是AB的实例。这两种结构都允许程序员在继承层次结构之外灵活地表达类型约束。

  • Dependent function types. Scala 2 已经允许返回类型依赖于(值)参数。在 Scala 3 中,现在可以对这种模式进行抽象,表达dependent function types。在类型F = (e: Entry) => e.Key中,结果类型取决于参数。

  • Polymorphic function types. 与 dependent function types 一样,Scala 2 支持拥有类型参数的方法,但不允许程序员对这些方法进行抽象。在 Scala 3 中,像[A] => List[A] => List[A]这样的polymorphic function types可以抽象出除值参数外还接受 类型参数 的函数。

  • Type lambdas. 在 Scala 2 中需要用编译器插件来表达的东西,现在在 Scala 3 中是原生支持的功能:类型lambdas是类型级别的函数,可以作为(高等类型的)类型参数传递,而不需要辅助类型定义。

  • Match types. Scala 3 提供了对matching on types的直接支持,而不是使用隐式解析对类型级别的计算进行编码。将类型级计算整合到类型检查器中,可以改进错误信息,并消除对复杂编码的需求。

Re-envisioned:面向对象的编程

Scala 一直处于函数式编程和面向对象编程的前沿 – 而 Scala 3 在这两个方向上都推动了边界的发展! 上述类型系统的变化和上下文抽象的重新设计使得 函数式编程 比以前更容易。同时,以下的新特性使结构良好的 面向对象设计 成为可能,并支持最佳实践。

  • Pass it on. Trait 更接近于 class,现在也可以接受参数,使其作为模块化软件分解的工具更加强大。

  • Plan for extension. 在面向对象的设计中,扩展那些不打算扩展的类是一个长期存在的问题。为了解决这个问题,open classes要求库设计者 明确地 将类标记为 open(开放的)。

  • Hide implementation details. 实现功能的工具性的traits有时不应该是推断类型的一部分。在 Scala 3 中,这些traits可以被标记为transparent,(在推断类型中)向用户隐藏继承信息。

  • Composition over inheritance. 这句话经常被引用,但实现起来却很繁琐。Scala 3 的export clauses则不然:与imports对应,export clauses 允许用户为对象的选定成员定义别名。

  • No more NPEs. Scala 3 比以往任何时候都更安全:explicit nullnull移出了类型层次结构,帮助你静态地捕捉错误;safe initialization的额外检查可以检测对未初始化对象的访问。

Batteries Included: 元编程

Scala 2 中的宏只是一个实验性的功能,而 Scala 3 则为元编程提供了强大的工具库。宏教程中包含了关于不同设施的详细信息。特别是,Scala 3 为元编程提供了以下功能:

  • Inline. inline feature允许在编译时化简值和方法。这个简单的功能已经涵盖了许多使用情况,同时也为更高级的功能提供了入口。
  • Compile-time operations. 包scala.compiletime中包含了额外的功能,可以用来实现内联方法。
  • Quoted code blocks. Scala 3为代码增加了quasi-quotation的新功能,这为构建和分析代码提供了方便的高级接口。构建加一加一的代码就像'{ 1 + 1 }一样简单。
  • Reflection API. 对于更高级的用例,quotes.reflect提供了更详细的控制来检查和生成程序树。

如果你想进一步了解 Scala 3 中的元编程,我们邀请你参阅我们的教程

Contributors to this page:

Work in Progress

Scala 3 has not been released, yet. We are still in the process of writing the documentation for Scala 3. You can help us to improve the documentation.

Are you searching for the Scala 2 documentation?

 

New in Scala 3

Language

The upcoming, exciting new version of Scala 3 brings many improvements and new features. Here we provide you with a quick overview of the most important changes. If you want to dig deeper, there are a few references at your disposal:

  • The Scala 3 Book targets developers new to the Scala language.
  • The Syntax Summary provides you with a formal description of the new syntax.
  • The Language Reference gives a detailed description of the changes from Scala 2 to Scala 3.
  • The Migration Guide provides you with all of the information necessary to move from Scala 2 to Scala 3.

What’s new in Scala 3

Scala 3 is a complete overhaul of the Scala language. At its core, many aspects of the type-system have been change to be more principled. While this also brings exciting new features along (like union types), first and foremost, it means that the type-system gets (even) less in your way and for instance type-inference and overload resolution are much improved.

New & Shiny: The Syntax

Besides many (minor) cleanups, the Scala 3 syntax offers the following improvements:

Opinionated: Contextual Abstractions

One underlying core concept of Scala was (and still is to some degree) to provide users with a small set of powerful features that can be combined to great (and sometimes even unforeseen) expressivity. For example, the feature of implicits has been used to model contextual abstraction, to express type-level computation, model type-classes, perform implicit coercions, encode extension methods, and many more. Learning from these use cases, Scala 3 takes a slightly different approach and focuses on intent rather than mechanism. Instead of offering one very powerful feature, Scala 3 offers multiple tailored language features, allowing programmers to directly express their intent:

  • Abtracting over contextual information. Using clauses allow programmers to abstract over information that is available in the calling context and should be passed implicitly. As an improvement over Scala 2 implicits, using clauses can be specified by type, freeing function signatures from term variable names that are never explicitly referred to.

  • Providing Type-class instances. Given instances allow programmers to define the canonical value of a certain type. This makes programming with type-classes more straightforward without leaking implementation details.

  • Retroactively extending classes. In Scala 2, extension methods had to be encoded using implicit conversions or implicit classes. In contrast, in Scala 3 extension methods are now directly built into the language, leading to better error messages and improved type inference.

  • Viewing one type as another. Implicit conversion have been redesigned from the ground up as instances of a type-class Conversion.

  • Higher-order contextual abstractions. The all-new feature of context functions makes contextual abstractions a first-class citizen. They are an important tool for library authors and allow to express concise domain specific languages.

  • Actionable feedback from the compiler. In case an implicit parameter can not be resolved by the compiler, it now provides you import suggestions that may fix the problem.

Say What You Mean: Type System Improvements

Besides greatly improved type inference, the Scala 3 type system also offers many new features, giving you powerful tools to statically express invariants in the types:

  • Enumerations. Enums have been redesigned to blend well with case classes and form the new standard to express algebraic data types.

  • Opaque Types. Hide implementation details behind opaque type aliases without paying for it in performance! Opaque types supersede value classes and allow you to set up an abstraction barrier without causing additional boxing overhead.

  • Intersection and union types. Basing the type system on new foundations led to the introduction of new type system features: instances of a intersection types, like A & B, are instances of both A and of B. Instances of union types, like A | B, are instances of either A or B. Both constructs allow programmers to flexibly express type constraints outside of the inheritance hierarchy.

  • Dependent function types. Scala 2 already allowed return types to depend on (value) arguments. In Scala 3 it is now possible to abstract over this pattern and express dependent function types. In the type type F = (e: Entry) => e.Key the result type depends on the argument!

  • Polymorphic function types. Like with dependent function types, Scala 2 supported methods that allow type parameters, but does not allow programmers to abstract over those methods. In Scala 3, polymorphic function types like [A] => List[A] => List[A] can abstract over functions that take type arguments in addition to their value arguments.

  • Type lambdas. What needed to be expressed using a compiler plugin in Scala 2 is now a first-class feature in Scala 3: Type lambdas are type level functions that can be pass as (higher-kinded) type arguments without requiring an auxiliary type definition.

  • Match types. Instead of encoding type-level computation using implicit resolution, Scala 3 offers direct support for matching on types. Integrating type-level computation into the type checker enables improved error messages and removes the need for complicated encodings.

Re-envisioned: Object-Oriented Programming

Scala has always been at the frontier between functional programming and object-oriented programming – and Scala 3 pushes boundaries in both directions! The above mentioned type system changes and the redesign of contextual abstractions make functional programming easier than before. At the same time, the following novel features enable well-structured object-oriented designs and support best practices.

  • Pass it on. Traits move closer to classes and now can also take parameters, making them even more powerful as a tool for modular software decomposition.
  • Plan for extension. Extending classes that are not intended for extension is a long standing problem in object-oriented design. To address this issue, open classes require library designers to explicitly mark classes as open.
  • Hide implementation details. Utility traits that implement behavior sometimes should not be part of inferred types. In Scala 3, those traits can be marked as transparent hiding the inheritance from the user (in inferred types).
  • Composition over inheritance. This phrase is often cited, but tedious to implement. Not so with Scala 3’s export clauses: symmetric to imports, export clauses allow to define aliases for selected members of an object.
  • No more NPEs. Scala 3 is safer than ever: explicit null moves null out of the type hierarchy, helping you to catch errors statically; additional checks for safe initialization detect access to uninitialized objects.

Batteries Included: Metaprogramming

While macros in Scala 2 were an experimental feature only, Scala 3 comes with a powerful arsenal of tools for metaprogramming. The macro tutorial contains detailed information on the different facilities. In particular, Scala 3 offers the following features for metaprogramming.

  • Inline. As the basic starting point, the inline feature allows values and methods to be reduced at compile time. This simple feature already covers many use-cases and at the same time provides the entry point for more advanced features.
  • Compile-time operations. The package scala.compiletime contains additional functionality that can be used to implement inline methods.
  • Quoted code blocks. Scala 3 adds the new feature of quasi-quotation for code, providing a convenient high-level interface to construct and analyse code. Constructing code for adding one and one is as easy as '{ 1 + 1 }.
  • Reflection API. For more advanced use cases TASTy reflect provides more detailed control to inspect and generate program trees.

If you want to learn more about meta programming in Scala 3, we invite you to take our tutorial.

Contributors to this page: