在JVM上的性能

对JVM性能模型的评论常常令人费解,其结论也往往不易理解。由于种种原因,代码也可能不像预期的那样高性能、可扩展。在这里,我们提供了一些示例。

其中一个原因是JVM应用程序的编译过程不同于静态编译语言(见[2])。Java和Scala的编译器将源代码转换为JVM的字节码,做了非常少的优化。大多数现代JVM,运行时,会把字节码转化成相应机器架构的机器代码。这个过程被称为即时编译。由于追求运行速度,所以实时编译的代码优化程度较低。为了避免重新编译,所谓的HotSpot编译器只优化了部分经常被运行的代码。这对于基准程序作者来说,这意味着程序每次运行时的性能都可能不同。在同一个JVM实例中多次执行一段相同的代码(比如一个方法)可能会得到非常不同的性能结果,这取决于这段代码在运行过程中是否被优化。另外,在测量某些代码的执行时间时其中可能包含JIT编译器对代码进行优化的时间,因此可能得到不一致的结果。

另一个在JVM上隐藏执行的是内存自动管理。每隔一段时间,程序的运行就被阻塞并且启动垃圾收集器。如果被进行基准测试的程序分配了任何堆内存(大部分JVM程序都会分配),垃圾收集器将会工作,因此可能会影响测量结果。为了缓冲垃圾收集的影响,被测量的程序应该运行多次以便触发多次垃圾回收。

性能恶化的常见原因之一是将原始类型作为参数传递给泛型方法时发生的隐式装箱和拆箱。在运行时,原始类型被转换为封装对象,这样它们就可以作为参数传给有泛型类型参数的方法。这会导致额外的空间分配并且运行速度会更慢,也会在堆中产生额外的垃圾。

就并行性能而言,一个常见的问题是存储冲突,因为程序员针对对象的内存分配没有做明确的控制。事实上,由于GC的影响,冲突可以发生在应用程序生命期的最后,在对象被移出内存后。在编写基准测试时这种影响需要被考虑到。

微基准测试的例子

有几种方法可以在测试中避免上述影响。首先,目标微基准测试必须被执行足够多次来确保实时编译器将程序编译为机器码并被优化过。这就是所谓的预热阶段。

微基准测试本身需要被运行在单独的JVM实例中,以便减少在程序不同部分或不相关的实时编译过程中针对对象分配的垃圾收集所带来的干扰。

微基准测试应该跑在会做更多积极优化的服务器版本的HotSpot JVM上。

最后,为了减少在基准测试中间发生垃圾回收的可能性,理想的垃圾回收周期应该发生在基准测试之前,并尽可能的推迟下一个垃圾回收周期。

scala.testing.Benchmark trait 是在Scala标准库中被预先定义的,并按前面提到的方式设计。下面是一个用于测试并行算法中映射操作的例子:

import collection.parallel.mutable.ParTrieMap
import collection.parallel.ForkJoinTaskSupport

object Map extends testing.Benchmark {
  val length = sys.props("length").toInt
  val par = sys.props("par").toInt
  val partrie = ParTrieMap((0 until length) zip (0 until length): _*)

  partrie.tasksupport = new ForkJoinTaskSupport(new scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool(par))

  def run = {
    partrie map {
      kv => kv
    }
  }
}

run方法包含了基准测试代码,重复运行时测量执行时间。上面的Map对象扩展了scala.testing.Benchmark trait,同时,参数par为系统的并行度,length为trie中元素数量的长度。

在编译上面的程序之后,可以这样运行:

java -server -cp .:../../build/pack/lib/scala-library.jar -Dpar=1 -Dlength=300000 Map 10

server参数指定需要使用server类型的虚拟机。cp参数指定了类文件的路径,包含当前文件夹的类文件以及以及scala类库的jar包。参数-Dpar和-Dlength分别对应并行度和元素数量。最后,10意味着基准测试需要在同一个JVM中运行的次数。

在i7四核超线程处理器上将par的值设置为1、2、4、8并获得对应的执行时间。

Map$ 126 57 56 57 54 54 54 53 53 53
Map$ 90 99 28 28 26 26 26 26 26 26
Map$ 201 17 17 16 15 15 16 14 18 15
Map$ 182 12 13 17 16 14 14 12 12 12

我们从上面的结果可以看到运行时间在最初的几次运行中是较高的,但是在代码被优化后时间就缩短了。另外,我们可以看到在这个例子中超线程带来的好处并不明显,从4线程到8线程的结果说明性能只有小幅提升。

多大的容器才应该使用并发?

这是一个经常被问到的问题。答案是有些复杂的。

collection的大小所对应的实际并发消耗取决于很多因素。部分原因如下:

即使单独的来看,对上面的问题进行推断并给出关于容器应有大小的明确答案也是不容易的。为了粗略的说明容器的应有大小,我们给出了一个无副作用的在i7四核处理器(没有使用超线程)和JDK7上运行的并行矢量减(在这个例子中进行的是求和)处理性能的例子:

import collection.parallel.immutable.ParVector

object Reduce extends testing.Benchmark {
  val length = sys.props("length").toInt
  val par = sys.props("par").toInt
  val parvector = ParVector((0 until length): _*)

  parvector.tasksupport = new collection.parallel.ForkJoinTaskSupport(new scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool(par))

  def run = {
    parvector reduce {
      (a, b) => a + b
    }
  }
}

object ReduceSeq extends testing.Benchmark {
  val length = sys.props("length").toInt
  val vector = collection.immutable.Vector((0 until length): _*)

  def run = {
    vector reduce {
      (a, b) => a + b
    }
  }
  
} 首先我们设定在元素数量为250000的情况下运行基准测试,在线程数设置为1、2、4的情况下得到了如下结果:

java -server -cp .:../../build/pack/lib/scala-library.jar -Dpar=1 -Dlength=250000 Reduce 10 10
Reduce$ 54 24 18 18 18 19 19 18 19 19
java -server -cp .:../../build/pack/lib/scala-library.jar -Dpar=2 -Dlength=250000 Reduce 10 10
Reduce$ 60 19 17 13 13 13 13 14 12 13
java -server -cp .:../../build/pack/lib/scala-library.jar -Dpar=4 -Dlength=250000 Reduce 10 10
Reduce$ 62 17 15 14 13 11 11 11 11 9 然后我们将元素数量降低到120000,使用4个线程来比较序列矢量减运行的时间:

java -server -cp .:../../build/pack/lib/scala-library.jar -Dpar=4 -Dlength=120000 Reduce 10 10
Reduce$ 54 10 8 8 8 7 8 7 6 5
java -server -cp .:../../build/pack/lib/scala-library.jar -Dlength=120000 ReduceSeq 10 10
ReduceSeq$ 31 7 8 8 7 7 7 8 7 8 在这个例子中,元素数量为120000时看起来正处于阈值附近。

在另一个例子中,我们使用mutable.ParHashMap和map方法(一个转换方法),并在同样的环境中运行下面的测试程序:

import collection.parallel.mutable.ParHashMap

object Map extends testing.Benchmark {
  val length = sys.props("length").toInt
  val par = sys.props("par").toInt
  val phm = ParHashMap((0 until length) zip (0 until length): _*)

  phm.tasksupport = new collection.parallel.ForkJoinTaskSupport(new scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool(par))

  def run = {
    phm map {
      kv => kv
    }
  }
}

object MapSeq extends testing.Benchmark {
  val length = sys.props("length").toInt
  val hm = collection.mutable.HashMap((0 until length) zip (0 until length): _*)

  def run = {
    hm map {
      kv => kv
    }
  }
} 在元素数量为120000、线程数量从1增加至4的时候,我们得到了如下结果:

java -server -cp .:../../build/pack/lib/scala-library.jar -Dpar=1 -Dlength=120000 Map 10 10    
Map$ 187 108 97 96 96 95 95 95 96 95
java -server -cp .:../../build/pack/lib/scala-library.jar -Dpar=2 -Dlength=120000 Map 10 10
Map$ 138 68 57 56 57 56 56 55 54 55
java -server -cp .:../../build/pack/lib/scala-library.jar -Dpar=4 -Dlength=120000 Map 10 10
Map$ 124 54 42 40 38 41 40 40 39 39

现在,如果我们将元素数量降低到15000来跟序列化哈希映射做比较:

java -server -cp .:../../build/pack/lib/scala-library.jar -Dpar=1 -Dlength=15000 Map 10 10
Map$ 41 13 10 10 10 9 9 9 10 9
java -server -cp .:../../build/pack/lib/scala-library.jar -Dpar=2 -Dlength=15000 Map 10 10
Map$ 48 15 9 8 7 7 6 7 8 6
java -server -cp .:../../build/pack/lib/scala-library.jar -Dlength=15000 MapSeq 10 10
MapSeq$ 39 9 9 9 8 9 9 9 9 9

对这个容器和操作来说,当元素数量大于15000的时候采用并发是有意义的(通常情况下,对于数组和向量来说使用更少的元素来并行处理hashmap和hashset是可行的但不是必须的)。

引用

  1. Anatomy of a flawed microbenchmark,Brian Goetz
  2. Dynamic compilation and performance measurement, Brian Goetz

parallel collections

Measuring Performance

Performance on the JVM

The performance model on the JVM is sometimes convoluted in commentaries about it, and as a result is not well understood. For various reasons, some code may not be as performant or as scalable as expected. Here, we provide a few examples.

One of the reasons is that the compilation process for a JVM application is not the same as that of a statically compiled language (see [2]). The Java and Scala compilers convert source code into JVM bytecode and do very little optimization. On most modern JVMs, once the program bytecode is run, it is converted into machine code for the computer architecture on which it is being run. This is called the just-in-time compilation. The level of code optimization is, however, low with just-in-time compilation, since it has to be fast. To avoid recompiling, the so called HotSpot compiler only optimizes parts of the code which are executed frequently. What this means for the benchmark writer is that a program might have different performance each time it is run. Executing the same piece of code (e.g. a method) multiple times in the same JVM instance might give very different performance results depending on whether the particular code was optimized in between the runs. Additionally, measuring the execution time of some piece of code may include the time during which the JIT compiler itself was performing the optimization, thus giving inconsistent results.

Another hidden execution that takes part on the JVM is the automatic memory management. Every once in a while, the execution of the program is stopped and a garbage collector is run. If the program being benchmarked allocates any heap memory at all (and most JVM programs do), the garbage collector will have to run, thus possibly distorting the measurement. To amortize the garbage collection effects, the measured program should run many times to trigger many garbage collections.

One common cause of a performance deterioration is also boxing and unboxing that happens implicitly when passing a primitive type as an argument to a generic method. At runtime, primitive types are converted to objects which represent them, so that they could be passed to a method with a generic type parameter. This induces extra allocations and is slower, also producing additional garbage on the heap.

Where parallel performance is concerned, one common issue is memory contention, as the programmer does not have explicit control about where the objects are allocated. In fact, due to GC effects, contention can occur at a later stage in the application lifetime after objects get moved around in memory. Such effects need to be taken into consideration when writing a benchmark.

Microbenchmarking example

There are several approaches to avoid the above effects during measurement. First of all, the target microbenchmark must be executed enough times to make sure that the just-in-time compiler compiled it to machine code and that it was optimized. This is known as the warm-up phase.

The microbenchmark itself should be run in a separate JVM instance to reduce noise coming from garbage collection of the objects allocated by different parts of the program or unrelated just-in-time compilation.

It should be run using the server version of the HotSpot JVM, which does more aggressive optimizations.

Finally, to reduce the chance of a garbage collection occurring in the middle of the benchmark, ideally a garbage collection cycle should occur prior to the run of the benchmark, postponing the next cycle as far as possible.

The scala.testing.Benchmark trait is predefined in the Scala standard library and is designed with above in mind. Here is an example of benchmarking a map operation on a concurrent trie:

import collection.parallel.mutable.ParTrieMap
import collection.parallel.ForkJoinTaskSupport

object Map extends testing.Benchmark {
  val length = sys.props("length").toInt
  val par = sys.props("par").toInt
  val partrie = ParTrieMap((0 until length) zip (0 until length): _*)
  
  partrie.tasksupport = new ForkJoinTaskSupport(new scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool(par))
  
  def run = {
    partrie map {
      kv => kv
    }
  }
}

The run method embodies the microbenchmark code which will be run repetitively and whose running time will be measured. The object Map above extends the scala.testing.Benchmark trait and parses system specified parameters par for the parallelism level and length for the number of elements in the trie.

After compiling the program above, run it like this:

java -server -cp .:../../build/pack/lib/scala-library.jar -Dpar=1 -Dlength=300000 Map 10

The server flag specifies that the server VM should be used. The cp specifies the classpath and includes classfiles in the current directory and the scala library jar. Arguments -Dpar and -Dlength are the parallelism level and the number of elements. Finally, 10 means that the benchmark should be run that many times within the same JVM.

Running times obtained by setting the par to 1, 2, 4 and 8 on a quad-core i7 with hyperthreading:

Map$	126	57	56	57	54	54	54	53	53	53
Map$	90	99	28	28	26	26	26	26	26	26
Map$	201	17	17	16	15	15	16	14	18	15
Map$	182	12	13	17	16	14	14	12	12	12

We can see above that the running time is higher during the initial runs, but is reduced after the code gets optimized. Further, we can see that the benefit of hyperthreading is not high in this example, as going from 4 to 8 threads results only in a minor performance improvement.

How big should a collection be to go parallel?

This is a question commonly asked. The answer is somewhat involved.

The size of the collection at which the parallelization pays of really depends on many factors. Some of them, but not all, include:

  • Machine architecture. Different CPU types have different performance and scalability characteristics. Orthogonal to that, whether the machine is multicore or has multiple processors communicating via motherboard.
  • JVM vendor and version. Different VMs apply different optimizations to the code at runtime. They implement different memory management and synchronization techniques. Some do not support ForkJoinPool, reverting to ThreadPoolExecutors, resulting in more overhead.
  • Per-element workload. A function or a predicate for a parallel operation determines how big is the per-element workload. The smaller the workload, the higher the number of elements needed to gain speedups when running in parallel.
  • Specific collection. For example, ParArray and ParTrieMap have splitters that traverse the collection at different speeds, meaning there is more per-element work in just the traversal itself.
  • Specific operation. For example, ParVector is a lot slower for transformer methods (like filter) than it is for accessor methods (like foreach)
  • Side-effects. When modifying memory areas concurrently or using synchronization within the body of foreach, map, etc., contention can occur.
  • Memory management. When allocating a lot of objects a garbage collection cycle can be triggered. Depending on how the references to new objects are passed around, the GC cycle can take more or less time.

Even in separation, it is not easy to reason about things above and give a precise answer to what the collection size should be. To roughly illustrate what the size should be, we give an example of a cheap side-effect-free parallel vector reduce (in this case, sum) operation performance on an i7 quad-core processor (not using hyperthreading) on JDK7:

import collection.parallel.immutable.ParVector

object Reduce extends testing.Benchmark {
  val length = sys.props("length").toInt
  val par = sys.props("par").toInt
  val parvector = ParVector((0 until length): _*)
  
  parvector.tasksupport = new collection.parallel.ForkJoinTaskSupport(new scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool(par))
  
  def run = {
    parvector reduce {
      (a, b) => a + b
    }
  }
}
   
object ReduceSeq extends testing.Benchmark {
  val length = sys.props("length").toInt
  val vector = collection.immutable.Vector((0 until length): _*)
  
  def run = {
    vector reduce {
      (a, b) => a + b
    }
  }
}

We first run the benchmark with 250000 elements and obtain the following results, for 1, 2 and 4 threads:

java -server -cp .:../../build/pack/lib/scala-library.jar -Dpar=1 -Dlength=250000 Reduce 10 10
Reduce$    54    24    18    18    18    19    19    18    19    19
java -server -cp .:../../build/pack/lib/scala-library.jar -Dpar=2 -Dlength=250000 Reduce 10 10
Reduce$    60    19    17    13    13    13    13    14    12    13
java -server -cp .:../../build/pack/lib/scala-library.jar -Dpar=4 -Dlength=250000 Reduce 10 10
Reduce$    62    17    15    14    13    11    11    11    11    9

We then decrease the number of elements down to 120000 and use 4 threads to compare the time to that of a sequential vector reduce:

java -server -cp .:../../build/pack/lib/scala-library.jar -Dpar=4 -Dlength=120000 Reduce 10 10
Reduce$    54    10    8    8    8    7    8    7    6    5
java -server -cp .:../../build/pack/lib/scala-library.jar -Dlength=120000 ReduceSeq 10 10
ReduceSeq$    31    7    8    8    7    7    7    8    7    8

120000 elements seems to be the around the threshold in this case.

As another example, we take the mutable.ParHashMap and the map method (a transformer method) and run the following benchmark in the same environment:

import collection.parallel.mutable.ParHashMap

object Map extends testing.Benchmark {
  val length = sys.props("length").toInt
  val par = sys.props("par").toInt
  val phm = ParHashMap((0 until length) zip (0 until length): _*)
  
  phm.tasksupport = new collection.parallel.ForkJoinTaskSupport(new scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool(par))
  
  def run = {
    phm map {
      kv => kv
    }
  }
}
   
object MapSeq extends testing.Benchmark {
  val length = sys.props("length").toInt
  val hm = collection.mutable.HashMap((0 until length) zip (0 until length): _*)
  
  def run = {
    hm map {
      kv => kv
    }
  }
}

For 120000 elements we get the following times when ranging the number of threads from 1 to 4:

java -server -cp .:../../build/pack/lib/scala-library.jar -Dpar=1 -Dlength=120000 Map 10 10    
Map$    187    108    97    96    96    95    95    95    96    95
java -server -cp .:../../build/pack/lib/scala-library.jar -Dpar=2 -Dlength=120000 Map 10 10
Map$    138    68    57    56    57    56    56    55    54    55
java -server -cp .:../../build/pack/lib/scala-library.jar -Dpar=4 -Dlength=120000 Map 10 10
Map$    124    54    42    40    38    41    40    40    39    39

Now, if we reduce the number of elements to 15000 and compare that to the sequential hashmap:

java -server -cp .:../../build/pack/lib/scala-library.jar -Dpar=1 -Dlength=15000 Map 10 10
Map$    41    13    10    10    10    9    9    9    10    9
java -server -cp .:../../build/pack/lib/scala-library.jar -Dpar=2 -Dlength=15000 Map 10 10
Map$    48    15    9    8    7    7    6    7    8    6
java -server -cp .:../../build/pack/lib/scala-library.jar -Dlength=15000 MapSeq 10 10
MapSeq$    39    9    9    9    8    9    9    9    9    9

For this collection and this operation it makes sense to go parallel when there are above 15000 elements (in general, it is feasible to parallelize hashmaps and hashsets with fewer elements than would be required for arrays or vectors).

References

  1. Anatomy of a flawed microbenchmark, Brian Goetz
  2. Dynamic compilation and performance measurement, Brian Goetz
blog comments powered by Disqus